10,000ft

Time Tracking

In 10,000ft Plans, you can track time in three different ways. Each setting offers different levels of flexibility and detail, so you can choose what option makes the most sense for your organization, depending on your company’s culture and reporting needs.

½ days: Fast, high level time entry

½ days time entry is great for teams with little variation in their daily activities. This is typically because people are working on one or two projects at a time. Time is entered in 4-hour increments. The Confirm Suggestions button makes entering time an easy, one-click process.

You won’t get the same level of accuracy as you do with the other time tracking settings, but if you’re simply looking to keep time entry as efficient as possible, the ½ days setting works best.

Hours and Minutes: Precise tracking that maintains efficiency

The Hours and Minutes time tracking setting allows people to enter the exact amount of time spent on each project or phase, and can also confirm the suggested hours for the days they work according to the plan. The Hours and Minutes design also introduces a timer in the Day View, for more precise time entries.

This setting gives your teams the ability to track and report on actual time spent per project, without adding unnecessary steps to the workflow.

Itemized hours and minutes: Additional details and reporting options

Itemized time entry allows for the most detailed time entry in 10,000ft Plans. People can track time to a category and write more details about what they worked on in the notes field. You can budget by category within a project, which offers an additional layer of reporting in analytics.

Use Itemized Time Tracking if you want to break down time based on specific activities (e.g. meetings, travel, etc.). These tasks can be customized by navigating to Settings > Time + Fee Categories. The Itemized hours and minutes design also has a timer in the Day View, which eliminates the guesswork when it comes to entering time.

Other Time Tracking Settings

Further customization allows your organization to determine:

  • Minimum and maximum allowable hours to track per day
  • Work hours in a day
  • Work days per week
  • On which day your work week starts

When people enter fewer hours than the minimum for a day, a red warning sign will show for that day to remind them that the entry is incomplete. When someone enters more hours than the maximum for a day, a notification will let them know they’ve exceeded the maximum. The hours entered are still considered confirmed hours, even if they don’t follow the guidelines established in your Account Settings.

Approval Workflow

If your organization wants to enable approvals, this is the area in Account Settings where you can enable and bulk approve.

Tracking Project Progress

Choose how you see a project’s progress, either in in days (time) or currency amounts (fees). This information will appear on the project page, beneath the Status area.

Availability and Allocation

This impacts how people’s availability is displayed on the Schedule and the default method of how people get allocated when assigned to projects.

Choose from either percentages (%) or hours per day.

In this example, Availability and Allocation are shown as hours per day.